276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Frozen Charlotte

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Although the story was simple, with little description or elaboration, it was easy to read and I honestly don’t think the story needed anything else – it was captivating and exciting. It really couldn’t have been easy for her, especially because of the way she felt partly responsible for what happened. Alex Bell’s chilling novel is part of the Red Eye series, perfect for fans of Juno Dawson’s Say Her Name and Kendare Blake’s Anna Dressed in Blood .

Reading has always been a huge part of my life, ever since I was young and would spend hours scouring the shelves in the library before leaving with armfuls of books. After a horrific tragedy, Sophie goes to stay with her cousins on the Isle of Skye for 2 weeks while her parents are away in America celebrating their wedding anniversary. Some of the chapters were a little overly long for my taste, which meant the book was little slow to start off with but the pacing definitely got better in the latter half of the book.This was such a genuinely creepy YA horror, I loved that there were some really scary moments in there that weren't watered down for a teen audience. Sophie arrives at the old Dunvegan School for girls that is now her uncle’s family home to spend the summer with her cousins. Because of this I found it hard to create an attachment to any of the characters, with the exception of Cameron and Sophie whom I was definitely rooting for.

I was hooked from the first chapter; within only a few pages I felt chills, and began to realise that this book would be a lot creepier than I had first anticipated. I’ve had Frozen Charlotte by Alex Bell sat on my book shelves for a while now, but for some reason I just never got around to reading it. Unable to ignore the gaps in the case, Pip sets out to prove Sal’s innocence, beginning with interviewing his younger brother, Ravi. I'm not a massive fan of anything to do with talking/killer dolls so even I found the frozen charlottes a little creepy.

There she met some great people and had a lot of fun messing about during lessons that were clearly meant to be extremely solemn affairs. After reading this, don’t forget tomorrow to check out the other reviews posted as part of Patti Abbott’s Friday’s Forgotten Books meme over at her fab Pattinase blog.

If you’re scared of needles, just a warning (as I am too) there are a few scenes involving needles in people’s eyes, so I’d just flick past those bits! As everything begins to fall apart around her, Sophia is left to figure out who or what is causing all the chaos before it's too late.The setting was almost another character, obstructive and antagonistic, it attacked half of the characters and warped the others. As soon as the white, English teen arrives she encounters hostility from nearly everyone, perhaps partly due to the fact that the family is still grieving her cousin Rebecca, who died some years earlier.

And I liked the way her grief for Jay, the boy who died at the very beginning, was suffused with what could have been.Although dubious about this book at the beginning – mainly due to the plot device of using a Ouija-board app ( yes, app) to invoke the ghost that the whole plot hinges on – I ended up actually rather enjoying this creepy tale. From this pulse-quickening beginning the story does not let up any of its pace until the final page if turned. Sophia goes to spend the summer with her uncle and cousins in their former schoolhouse home following the death of her best friend. This is a proper old school horror, it is YA so no extreme gore or violence but it is still chillingly spooky. I’ve never been more grateful that I don’t have a load of dolls in my bedroom or I probably wouldn’t have slept since reading this book.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment