276°
Posted 20 hours ago

In My Dreams I Hold a Knife: TikTok made me buy it! The breakout dark academia thriller everyone's talking about

£4.995£9.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Six college friends reunite at homecoming weekend a decade after graduating — This crew is brimming with dark deceit and secrets, and are forced to confront the details of a murder they’ve all tried to leave behind. But near the end of senior year one of them was murdered and another was accused, and things were never quite the same between them. The other thing I loved about this book is well thrown bombs in our laps, sucker punches the author orchestras out of nowhere and the delicious fiery ending sealed the deal.

s ᴀʙɪʟɪᴛʏ ᴛᴏ ᴅᴇᴠᴇʟᴏᴘ ʜᴇʀ ᴄʜᴀʀᴀᴄᴛᴇʀs ɪɴ sᴜᴄʜ ᴀ ᴍᴜʟᴛɪᴅɪᴍᴇɴsɪᴏɴᴀʟ ᴀɴᴅ ᴛʜᴏᴜɢʜᴛғᴜʟ ᴡᴀʏ, ᴇɴᴀʙʟᴇs ʏᴏᴜ ᴛᴏ ᴄᴀʀᴇ ᴀʙᴏᴜᴛ ᴇᴠᴇɴ ᴛʜᴇ ᴍᴏsᴛ ᴍᴏʀᴀʟʟʏ ɢʀᴇʏ ᴏғ ᴛʜᴇ ʙᴜɴᴄʜ. Reading this book was like wandering solo in some remote, little-known country, not knowing its culture, expectations, or language. I very easily visualized walking the grounds of Duquette University, and even found myself battling a deep sense of nostalgia for the beginning of my college days at a similar institution – very well done Winstead! When the six friends are reunited, they will be forced to confront what happened that night―and the years' worth of secrets each of them would do anything to keep hidden. A deep-seated fear of being overlooked and never fulfilling her potential drives Jess forward, motivating her ruthless ambition and single-minded focus.At one point or another I suspected pretty much everyone, so the ultimate revelation definitely came as a surprise to me. Not without faults, a reader would be tempted to view her as superficial as she’s so focused on her image. The different timelines and perspectives impressively illustrated exactly why these characters were as 'effed up' as they were, making the characters even that much more authentic! The novel has some surprising revelations, and one stunning final admission that I didn’t see coming. When one of the girls in her tight group of 7 friends was brutally murdered, the blame was immediately placed on her boyfriend.

Delve into the dark secrets and ever-shifting allegiances of the East House Seven in IN MY DREAMS I HOLD A KNIFE, but watch your back—everyone in this friend group has something to hide, and some of their secrets are deadly. What has this toxic enneagram 3 motherf*cker ever done in her life to make someone think she's got emotional depth? However, readers won’t fully understand exactly what the story’s central mystery is, or what exactly is at stake for the book’s characters, until a shift in the story occurs that sets our characters on a new—and much more dangerous—path. The mystery surrounding Heather’s death shapes the plot but the thoughtful prose created the essence of the book.I also listened to this playlist of dark academia music while I read the book and it was LIFE CHANGING: https://youtu. Thanks to Netgalley and HarperCollins Canada for the digital arc in exchange for my honest opinions. I love that Jess is a very morally gray character and she’s super flawed and hard to root for at times, it made her such an interesting protagonist. Jessica Miller was our ‘protagonist’ in this story; however, it did provide perspectives for each member of the East House Seven, in addition to dual timelines as the murder mystery slowly unraveled.

The first section of this book is focused on scene-setting, with an emphasis on establishing character backstories and developing a strong sense of place. BLOOD SISTERS will be published in September, but thanks to Vanessa and her publisher, we’re able to get an exclusive early glimpse into the book right here in today’s blog post! Ashley Winstead’s immersive debut suspense novel IN MY DREAMS I HOLD A KNIFE weaves an engrossing tale of murder, love, and obsession set against the backdrop of an elite southern university. An astonishingly sure-footed debut, In My Dreams I Hold a Knife is the definition of compulsive reading.Told over two timelines – one in the present and one in the past – it’s brilliant to see the build-up to the reunion and to gradually find out what happened to Heather. The cherry on top of this deliciously dark read is a cinematic, gut-punch of an ending—the kind of finale that feels built for the big screen, and more than makes up for any slower start that some readers may find this book to have. also heather being the one that died was lame it should’ve caro, she had a lot more personality and was the reason they came together. The combination of riveting characters, roller coaster plot twists and vivid campus setting made for quite the impressive read! A college reunion brings together a group of friends once shattered by a vicious crime in this thrilling debut, reminiscent of Cruel Intentions, Heathers, and, of course, the Secret History.

In My Dreams I Hold a Knife is required reading for fans of Donna Tartt's The Secret History and Amy Gentry's Bad Habits.When Jessica and her friends are reunited, they are forced to confront not only what happened that night, but the secrets they would do anything to hide. Set against the backdrop of an elite southern university, this engrossing suspense novel takes readers into the dark secrets of a picture-perfect friend group, exploring the complex dynamics that exist between individuals who have spent their formative years together.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment