Posted 20 hours ago

Angel: A DCI Ryan Mystery (The DCI Ryan Mysteries Book 4)

ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
Joined in 2023

About this deal

She also traveled to Sorbonne in Paris and in Florence to study further in legal training, as she considered having a well-rounded education crucial in life.

Thinking of a creative venture that would take her away from her job, she fell pregnant with her son. Motherhood was a very exciting prospect for L.J. Ross, though she was still unsatisfied with her career that would not give her the flexibility she desired to have as a mother. Set on the historic Holy Island otherwise known as Lindisfarne, “Holy Island” is a gripping novel that introduces Detective Chief Inspector Ryan. Ryan has retreated to Holy Island to recover from a tragic case that had a particularly bad effect on his psyche. A few days into his sabbatical, the tranquility is broken when the body of a young woman is discovered abandoned on the ruins of the nearby monastery buildings. My big question is when will your new books be out Be it the Ryan or the Alex Gregory books all are fantastic.. While she will always be a northerner at heart, she currently lives with her husband and their son in Bath on the outskirts of London where she spends her days writing her detective mysteries. Ross loved books from a very early age when she would find old books from her mother’s chest that she would staple and illustrate during her middle school years. Even as she has a varied taste in the types of novels that she reads, and will not mind reading the odd women’s fiction or a romance.

Northumberland Cards

What a fantastic author, her books are compelling and addictive. Once begun I cannot stop them. I have become an addict for her awesome writing ! The story lines and characters move me to each venue, with ease ,and I know each one now as if we are old friends. The DCI Ryan mystery series by author LJ Ross involves a mix of murder, mystery, and suspense. Each book in the series focuses on a new crime for DCI Ryan and his team to solve, all the while developing Ryan's character and personal story. Then, on Good Friday morning he is called out to a crime scene at one of the largest cemeteries in Newcastle. The body of a redheaded woman has been found buried in a shallow grave and the killer has given her wings, like an angel. LJ Ross (Louise Ross) was born in a village in Northumberland called Ponteland where she also grew up. She attended Darras Hall primary school, then Dame Allan’s School in Farnham, and then and Central Newcastle High School. Once she graduated from high school, LJ Ross moved to London to study law at King’s College, where she got a master’s degree in law. Any issues with the book list you are seeing? Or is there an author or series we don’t have? Let me know!

After graduating from law school, LJ Ross started working as a well-paid regulatory lawyer in the areas of financial regulation and white-collar crime. Several years later, she got married and got pregnant, which meant that she had to think of changing the pace in her life since her legal work started to take over her personal life as well. After around 14 years of being a lawyer, she decided to change the pace of her life. One day, as she was passing Holy Island by train, she mentioned her husband that the place would be a great setting for an Agatha Christie-style mystery. And this sparked in her creation of a draft, upon which she wrote a manuscript that she sent to various agents and publishers. After a turbulent time, DCI Ryan’s life is finally returning to normal and he’s looking forward to spending an uneventful Easter bank holiday weekend with his fiancée. Have thoroughly enjoyed all the L J Ross books so far published. I would point out, to those reading the above blurb, that, although the DCI Ryan books are mainly set in Northumberland, some of his cases bring him as far south as Durham City and Teesdale. ReplyAll across the USA, people are showing up dead. The deaths don't appear to be connected in any way until one particular death occurs and gets the Secretary of Defense's attention. He arranges for a task force to investigate.

Absolutely! The DCI Ryan books make excellent gifts for mystery lovers. You can buy e-books, print books, or even audiobook versions to give as cards gifts. Some online stores also offer special gifts like prints of the book covers. You can find the latest DCI Ryan book by LJ Ross on various online platforms. The e-book, print, and audiobook versions are usually available a few weeks after the publisher's release date. The first book in the DCI Ryan mystery series by author LJ Ross is "Holy Island." Released a few years ago, this thrilling title plunges readers into a chilling murder investigation right in the heart of the United Kingdom.

I have read all these books and the one Bamborough. They are a good read and even better on audio. Her Dr Gregory books are also an excellent read. I would like to visit Northumberland and visit all these places. Keep them coming please. Ann Richards Reply With a passion for writing and reading, a writing career seemed the most plausible way to express her creativity. The idea for the first novel in the series came while she was traveling to Edinburgh with her husband.

Struggling to find a killer that is hiding in plain sight, while navigating small town politics and pagan rituals that muddy the waters, romance is blossoming between the two tortured souls, threatening to slow down the investigation. “Sycamore Gap”, the second novel in the DCI Ryan series of novels is an excellent novel about the adventures of the handsome and troubled Detective Chief Inspector Ryan. Yes, LJ Ross's DCI Ryan books were published independently. She chose this route to keep full creative control over her fiction. Her novels have been successful, proving that authors don't need a publisher to find their place in the readers' hearts. book 11 – The infirmary is a prequel which on the book list says “Chronologically, The Infirmary is a prequel to the series and should be read first”. Apologies – my previous comment about the infirmary was in response to a message from Sue Pull from 1yr ago. Reply Apart from the editing, which her husband proudly did, she did not have to pay anything, and was pleasantly surprised when the novel took off. She has been publishing as an Indie ever since. The DCI Ryan Mysteries are set in Northumberland, which is a region of England that the author is particularly familiar with, given that she grew up there. These are fast-paced mystery and murder novels peppered with a bit of romance and humor.

Fabulous Northern Women

The prequel story to the DCI Ryan series, The Infirmary, is released only on Audible, in a very different way than the previous novels. There is a whole cast of characters playing each role, including Tom Bateman, Hermione Norris, and Kevin Whately.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment